An Overview of National Football League in America

About National Football League

National football leagueThe National Football League also known as NFL is a professional American football league which comprises the four major professional football leagues in North America. It comprises of 32 teams alienated equally among the National Football Conference known as NFC and the American Football Conference also known as AFC which is the top professional level sport in the world. The NFL runs a seventeen week normal season starting from Labor Day which continues till Christmas, with all teams playing sixteen games and having one off week every season. From the total of league’s 32 teams, six teams from each conference battle in the NFL match, a solo elimination tournament played among NFC and AFC. The winners of the match are appreciated with the Vince Lombardi Trophy. Several other awards exist to reward individual players and coaches. Mostly all games are played on Sunday afternoons, while some are also played on Monday and Thursday throughout the regular season. The game is played on Saturday for first two playoffs.

Origin of NFL

The NFL was constituted on 20 of August as the American Professional Football Conference in the year 1920, the league changed its name to the American Professional Football Association (APFA) on 17 of September in the year 1920, and again altered its name to the National Football League on 24 of June in the year 1922, after spending the 1920 and 1921 seasons as the APFA. In the year 1966, the NFL decided to unite with the enemy American Football League (AFL), in the year 1970, the first league was held at the end of the season in January in the year 1967. At present, the NFL has the maximum average attendance than any other professional sports league in the world and is the most trendy sports league in the US. The Super Bowl is the biggest club sporting events in the world and individual Super Bowl games account for many of the most watched television programs in American history. This Football League is a nonprofit association. The NFL’s managerial officer is the commissioner, who has large authority in leading the league.

All teams are allowed to have maximum of 53 players during the normal season, however only 46 players can play on the day of the game. Teams are allotted exclusive rights to sign free agents who have three or lesser seasons in the league, while free agents who have been in the league for at least four years can sign up with any team which they like. All teams are liable to a salary cap. The champions of the 2013 season are the Seattle Seahawks, who had beaten the Denver Broncos by 43-8 in Super Bowl 48 season. Green Bay Packers have won 13 championships titles which are highest amongst all. Pittsburgh Steelers currently have the most Super Bowl championships, who have won six times which is the record.

Leave a Comment

2 × two =